Need Camera with Video (that is both Simple yet Professional)

Seize the Light

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new here so first of all, Hello!

I am looking to buy a camera (as well as lighting and lenses, buy I'll save that for another thread).

I have some experience with a compact camera, but I'm looking to get into photography seriously, as in a profession. At first I was positive I was going to get a Canon or, maybe, Nikon (because that's what nearly all my favorite photographers on Flickr use and because I know these brands have a long history). But upon closer inspection, I'm beginning to have second thoughts. But let me start with what I want the camera to do:

1. Obviously, it needs to take professional quality pictures, good enough for magazines and also for fine art prints (I'm interested in doing a lot of "art", non-commercial portraits). For commercial work, I'm mostly interested in food and outdoor pet, child, fashion photography.

2. I want a camera that has fantastic low-light capabilities. I love natural, low light photography, and I am tired of having my crummy compact camera tell me "you don't have enough light" and suffering from ugly unacceptable noise when I go above ISO 400.

3. I want to make short films and music videos (I don't have the budget to buy a still camera AND a camcorder). Again, I need the best quality a still camera can give me. But for now, my videos will be seen mostly on websites like YouTube; it's not like they're gonna be projected on an IMAX 3D screen any time soon.

............ So within my price range, I was originally looking at cameras like the Nikon D90 and the Canon 70D, mostly because I've seen some very professional short films made with them. Maybe the Rebel cameras. But I have to admit, the amount of options in these brands alone is overwhelming, especially for someone who has a limited understanding of all the jargon.