Need help and advice

DsMcCombs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to both the forum and photography. I have a nikon5600 and have purchased a Sigma 150-600 5.3-6. The first time I used it I had no problem. The last softball game I tried to shoot my camera was saying the apature was 14 so all my pictures came out horrible because I didn't notice. My camera has done this before with both Sigma lenses and my nikon lenes. Is there an easy fix to this? I checked to make sure both Sigma lenses were compatible with my camera, and they are. Any ideas on how to fix this would be amazing. Thanks in advance for your time.

An enthusiastic newbie

It would be helpful if you could provide some more information. An aperture of 14 all on it’s own shouldn’t cause horrible pictures. What were the other settings? Were you shooting in auto mode, manual mode, other? What was the shutter speed, ISO? And maybe you could post a couple of the pictures so we can see what you mean by “horrible”.

I have the 5600 and have had great luck with it. Although I haven’t used the Sigma lens.

It sounds like maybe your camera was in aperture-priority auto-exposure and set to f:14, which is a pretty low light level into the camera. It would have probably used unacceptably long shutter speeds, resulting in motion blur, perhaps huge motion blur.

Be mindful of the exposure mode is all I can say, without knowing more. Shooting sports you probably want to be in shutter-priority mode so you can lock the shutter speed to something acceptable.