Need Help Choosing a DSLR

WhiteJetStorm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi. I'm new to photography and I'd like to buy a DSLR. This is going to be my first one.
My budget is around $700 but where I live the prices are a bit higher so maybe around $600 on Amazon totals at $700~ where I live.
I want a kit that comes with a lens. I want the camera to be able to shoot 1080p video and to perform well in low light conditions.
I also want the camera to be able to take pictures in a size in which I'd have no problem to print the picture on a big panorama canvas if I'd want to (so I think that has to do with the megapixels of the camera).
I looked at some options and I could afford the D3300, D5200, 650D and such (with the 18-55 lens kit).

Thank you very much.

I would say take a look at the D5200 or D5300 (whichever you can afford). If video is something that is important to you, the swivel screen will be indispensable. Note that the D5300 offers 60 fps 1080p, whereas the D5200 does 30 fps 1080p. Get the 18-55 kit lens to start.

The next lens after that you should look at is the 35mm 1.8G (versatile focal length on DX), or a different fast prime lens of the focal length you determine you want.

I would say take a look at the D5200 or D5300 (whichever you can afford). If video is something that is important to you, the swivel screen will be indispensable. Note that the D5300 offers 60 fps 1080p, whereas the D5200 does 30 fps 1080p. Get the 18-55 kit lens to start.

The next lens after that you should look at is the 35mm 1.8G (versatile focal length on DX), or a different fast prime lens of the focal length you determine you want.
I can't quite afford the D5300. However, I can afford the D5200. Is it better than the other ones I mentioned?
Thank you very much for the quick reply.

D5200 is a very good camera. You can't really go wrong on the models you mentioned.