Need help deciding: Canon Xs or Nikon D60...probably been asked alot. First DSLR

kennyboater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am brand new to DSLR. I want to purchase one for my wife which she will use as a hobby. I know there are die hard canon and nikon people out there who will just say one or the other no matter if one is really better or worse than the other. I need some objective help please

im considering the Nikon D60 w IS lens
and the new Canon XS with IS lens. both look to be about the same price. many of the same features and a few different ones. Also considering purchasing 55-200 lens to go with the 18-55 that comes with either.

I need some objective help on which to choose please D60 or XS also is 55-200 a good lens to suppliment the 18-55

thanks in advance.

While I'm still a noob, I'll through my 2 cents in here.

The best thing to do is go to a retailer and play with both of them. See if you like the controls and menus, etc. Both are great cameras, so it really comes down to which one feels best to you. I personally went with the D60, it just felt better in my hands.

As far as the 55-200, it depends on what you are wanting to do with it. I am getting a 70-300 for shooting my son playing soccer and found the 200 just didn't have the reach.

I'm a Nikon user, and don't know much about the Xs, so I'll refrain from giving any advice about the cameras, but I can tell you that the 55-200mm is a 'natural' supplement (meaning that with the two lenses you have everything from 17mm to 200mm covered) to the 17-55mm, and the 70-300m the poster above mentioned is also very good in case you need a bit more reach.

I'm a Nikon user, and don't know much about the Xs, so I'll refrain from giving any advice about the cameras, but I can tell you that the 55-200mm is a 'natural' supplement (meaning that with the two lenses you have everything from 17mm to 200mm covered)