need help with photographing reflective products

scz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to photography and am just learning things by trial and error. I need to photograph products for my company. Right now I am trying to get pictures of some large tiles. These need to be shown straigth on, as they will be used for a catalog, and need to be a standard "product" shot. The problem I am having is, these tiles are somewhat reflective and they are very dark in color, so even the coloring from my hand pushing the camera button is slightly showing up on the tile as a redish streak. I am looking for any tips anyone has for photographing refelctive materials straight on. Basicaly - (I am guessing this is an impossible feat) how would you photograph a mirror, at zero degree of angle and not show the camera?

I am new to photography and am just learning things by trial and error. I need to photograph products for my company. Right now I am trying to get pictures of some large tiles. These need to be shown straigth on, as they will be used for a catalog, and need to be a standard "product" shot. The problem I am having is, these tiles are somewhat reflective and they are very dark in color, so even the coloring from my hand pushing the camera button is slightly showing up on the tile as a redish streak. I am looking for any tips anyone has for photographing refelctive materials straight on. Basicaly - (I am guessing this is an impossible feat) how would you photograph a mirror, at zero degree of angle and not show the camera?

Hopefully your tiles are not too large but the usual approach is a dome reflector on a light box and you stick the camera lens only through the top of the dome.

skieur