Need Help with White Background.

dphoenix25

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone,
I just recently got into photography. I've been a videographer for a bit now, and am trying to make the transition. Anyways, I did my first photo shoot for a local clothing company last night and everything went fairly well. Only problem, somewhat major is that the background which was supposed to be white is now a beige-ish color. Any help would be really great.
$IMG_1045.jpg

Is there any way to get the background to be white while also maintaining the skins tones and color and exposure of the clothing?

Do we get a cut of what they paid you, if we help? Like consultants get paid? After all, A professional hiring a consultant would expect to pay for those services, right? ;)

Is there any way to get the background to be white while also maintaining the skins tones and color and exposure of the clothing?

I would reshoot! And do it right! You can photoshop it, but won't look 100% real, unless you are very good at photoshop! (which I am assuming you aren't or you wouldn't be asking this question!)

The shirt isn't white either.

The white balance of the image is off and has a yellow color cast from the light source.
To make the background white you need to light it, and use strobed light so you can control the ambient light exposure separately from the strobed light exposure with the camera.
Click on this - http://www.zarias.com/white-seamless-tutorial-part-1-gear-space/

This is what it looks like with only the white balance corrected, so you can see the yellow cast from the light source and improper white balance setting in the camera:

IMG_1045edit.jpg

Last edited:
The shirt isn't white either.

The white balance of the image is off and has a yellow cast from the light source.