Need help!

AnnTom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi
I am an absolute beginner and new here.
I took this photo today in trying to decide how to place my lighting. There may be other things wrong, but can someone comment on my lighting.
Any other helpful comments welcome too!!

Thank you so much!
20200421_110450.jpg

you will, likely, have a better luck getting help if you provide your light set up and what you are attempting to do with it.

You are right Foques, Thank You! I will take a photo of my lights. They are small halogen lights placed opposite each other on the sides of the light tent. In this photo I also used one from the top.
I am basically trying to get a good photo of my scarf to put in my online store.

Hi
I am an absolute beginner and new here.
I took this photo today in trying to decide how to place my lighting. There may be other things wrong, but can someone comment on my lighting.
Any other helpful comments welcome too!!
Hi!

Articles of clothing present kind of a compound problem. On the one hand, you want the light to reveal the curves, folds, and texture, but on the other hand, you want to light most of the item to show the size, style, and color.

Quandry.

Your post shot is good for side light, but then there is that dark place right in the center. I would say avoid flight lighting, (even light straight on) because flat light almost never shows your subject in a flattering way.

For this scarf, I would say try two lights on the same side, with one high, and one a bit lower. If you have a third light, use it for fill on the off side. Alternatively, you could use a reflector on the off side to bring that up just a little.

Keep us posted!

Designer, Thank you so much ! I will try what you suggested. Also, forgive my ignorance but what does "flight lighting" mean?

Designer, Thank you so much ! I will try what you suggested. Also, forgive my ignorance but what does "flight lighting" mean?