Need some advice for upcoming Engagement Shoot...

Raian-san

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A person I know is getting married and asked if I could help film their Engagement ceremony for them since all the people they asked around are too expensive. I am getting paid for the filming, but since they are on a really tight budget and can't afford anybody to do their engagement photo session, I thought I help and do it as a wedding gift. Before people say don't accept money if you're not sure, I'm not getting paid for it the photoshoot.

Recently, my friend found a Sigma EF-530 DG ST flash that she doesn't use so I've been playing around with it. I'm new to the flash scene so I'm learning. I do have different reflector and will have someone to help me while I shoot. I have about $400 budget and I wanted to know if I should get the Tamron 17-50mm lens, Canon flash, or Canon 50mm 1.4, or what should I get?

Also, any advice and tips to have a pretty good engagement shoot? Or more websites that give tips. I am searching around the web looking for help as well. His girl wanted to shoot shots are the beach since she saw her friend engagement photo and liked it. I also will shoot around a small town that has nice old dark wood houses and country road, trees and etc. Thanks guys.

No advice? I'm starting to research for places that to rent some lenses. I'm thinking of borrowing the 70-200mm f/4L IS, the 70-200mm 2.8, or the 24-105mm F/4L IS. The 70-200mm 2.8L II is a bit too expensive. Which one do you guys think I should go with?

It would be proper to rent the 24-105 and the 70-200 2.8, and also get your hands on a flash. That would cover all the focal lengths you actually need imo.

If you're just doing it as a favor for a friend, why go so far into debt doing so? Depending on the lighting conditions where you shoot, you may or may not need the Sigma flash or any of the lenses you've listed.