Need some Advice/Tips on an upcoming shoot.

OccamsRazor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A friend of mine had asked me to do a family/maternity shoot come October. I am not a pro by any means, I do photography as a hobby and I mainly use my own family as subjects. When I do take pictures of us together, my camera is mounted on my tripod, so it is stationary and I have no worries about motion blur (unless my son moves). I have no formal training on my camera, and I'm feeling pressured with this idea of doing a friend's family pictures when I am scared I can't provide decent images. I have the Nikon D40, and will most likely use my stock lens (18-55mm). This shoot will take place outside, in the fall, and I can't help but get excited with the vibrant colors of the season. My concern is her having two rambunctious children, what aperture should I use to ensure that all subjects are in focus? I want to ensure there is still a soft blur in the background. Should I preset my white balance once I get to the area she plans to shoot? Should I keep my camera in Manual mode so I can quickly adjust exposure as needed? Can anyone provide some insight on how to reduce motion blur without jeopardizing exposure? I really want to "wow" her and her husband with my pictures since they both like my pictures I have done in the past of another family's kids. I am not thrilled with my own work so I never offered to do shoots, but I am also not charging her anything as her asking me to do this is kind of doing me a favor as practice.