Need some critique!

thelightwithin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I want to get some constructive criticism on my most recent work. I'm actually a filmmaker, but photography has been one of my most beloved hobbies over the last couple of years, I have rarely shown these before as I don't consider myself a 'good' photographer but these are the shots that I like the most, I would really like some opinions and advice as to how I could improve my work, what is it that I'm missing (besides a better camera), I am really passionate about this and I want to learn from my mistakes, if you could please turn me to the right path, I would deeply appreciate it!

$p4.jpg
Camera: Canon PowerShot A630
Focal Lenght: 7.3
F number: 4
Exposure time: 1/80
I used the porch lamp as light source.

$p3.jpg
F number: 2.8
Exposure time: 1/60

$p2.jpg
F number: 3.5

$p1.jpg
F number: 4

Thank you for your time!

May just be the computer I'm on but the first one looks like it needs a little more light, just enough to differentiate the background and subject more. I like the Second, ash tray, picture the most. Good eye on the shooting angle in the third picture. In the fourth picture I like the textures and the bridge in the distance is a nice touch. I say good job. I like them all

Nice pics

#1 might can be improved if you drop the shadows a point or too and raise the highlights a few points

edit: also # 1 has some distraction going on at the edge of the photo

What 2WheelPhoto said about #1. I like the dim/dark feeling.

I get a sense that you like mysterious elements poking into the frame, which isn't a bad thing per se but in #1 they just look like accidents. Make them more obvious, or get rid of 'em.

#2 isn't bad, but it feels like a bit of a cliche. I'm somewhat mixed on it.