Need techniques for shooting people at conventions

iriairi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.finalsignal.net
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am going to a convention in San Diego soon and have been looking for tips for taking pictures. I mostly take pics of waterfalls and flowers, but am wanting to improve my technique with people.

I have an XTi and have 24-105 f4 IS Canon and a 50 f1.8 Canon as well. I am renting the Canon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS just to play with. I have an external flash also. I also have a manfrotto tripod and monopod. Wasn't wanting to lug the tripod with me around the convention though...

My question is, which lens would you use most of the time to get candids of people in the convention hall? I see advangtages to all of them, and could swap out, but just wanted some tips. I have tried to find some previous threads or links, but nothing that was really covering this kind of event.

Thanks for any help.

I'm no pro at this but since no one else has replied, I'll give you what little experience I have had.

Using a mid-range zoom is a good idea. I've used a 28-100 with some excellent results at various events I've shot. Certainly the faster the lens, the better, but since you are likely to be indoors, you're going to need to be using a flash, it won't matter *too* much. A slightly broader zoom would be handy as well (like an 18-135), but you'll likely get away with the 28-100.

YOU NEED A FLASH. :) Get one you can bounce off the ceiling, do NOT use the on-camera flash. That does horrid things to people's faces. If it's a low ceiling place with light colors on the ceiling, you can probably get away with a simple bounce flash and a plastic diffuser... if there are high ceilings, you will need a "bounce card", which is something stuck on the top of the flash to act as a portable ceiling and bounces the light in a more diffused way at the subject.