need your thoughts

jemmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all, I am seeking your help!!!!... I have been asked to take some shots of a few hotels. Basically they need photos of their function rooms decorated for weddings to use in catalogues and on their website. I am very keen but not sure how much to charge??? Any ideas?? I gather they will want the images on cd to print as they need and no actual prints. There are 3 hotels that they want photographed, all pretty much in my area. ANY help at all would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time:blushing: doing anything like this. Regards, Jem x

There are a few things to consider:

I gather they want unlimited rights to use the photos however they want. Do they want to possess the copyright, or would you keep that?

What kind of hotels? Economy or luxury? Big chain or local business?

Is this job going to take a few hours, or a few days?

If I were doing a job like this for a locally owned, non-chain, hotel I'd charge $500 for the first 2 hours, and $100 per hour after that, up to 8 hours in a single 24 hour period. Beyond 8 hours in a day, I charge $250 an hour. This makes my half day rate $700, and my full day rate $1100, but I like phrasing it as an hourly rate. With an hourly rate the client can save money if everyone is on time, things go smoothly etc.... There seems to be less waiting around than when I just charge a day rate. Sitting on my butt earning $100+ per hour doesn't sound bad, but it drives me crazy. I'd rather just get the job done.

If I need an assistant the rate goes up $50 to $100 per hour depending on the skill level of my assistant. I pay equipment haulers $20 an hour, and skilled photographers $50 an hour to assist me.