New, 1st post -- what studio lighting do i need??

blchapell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I am pretty new to photography and have done mostly outdoor pictures...kids mostly. I am transforming an extra room in my house to a small photography studio. I recently got several backdrops, but haven't purchased any lighting equipment...honestly b/c i'm too scared. There is soooooo much out there!!! And it's very intimidating! Any suggestions on what I should purchase to do portraits in a small room??

Thanks so much for your ideas!
Beth

PS....I am very excited to see your suggestions...please know I'm also not terribly familiar with some of the photography terms. :))

Well many people use strobes (flashes) and then some people use constant light. I like using both 50/50. But its all preference.

i'd get a strobe and use it off camera, your built in flash should trigger it. ( I know it would work with a Nikon SB 6,8,900) and see if you like using them and if you like using them you would need around 3. (no less then 2 of them for antiquate lighting)

Also if you go the strobe or constant light route you can either buy or make some soft boxes or get umbrellas. ( seems more people like the boxes)

And its always good to have some reflectors on hand, and stands to mount things on.

But I dont do too much studio work so I just thinking of what people use. Hope I helped!

Softboxes are nice if you want to feather the light, but you can accomplish something similar with a gobo. Or a snoot (black on the inside will give you really quick fall-off). Besides, softboxes eat light. Lots of light.