New Equipment!!!

mommaof2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so i have purchased a canon rebel xs and still waiting for it in the mail, but i would like some pointers on what i need to work on first when i receive the camera!!!

Learn to use Av, Tv, and M modes. Save the green box for your point & shoot cameras.

Congratulations on the new camera. :)

is this your first slr? do you know anything about the science behind exposure? I really dont know how much you already know, so you may want to be more specific.

If a total beginner: Understanding Exposure. Get this book.

Search these forums, read all you can, and play around w/ your new camera on manual. fastest way to learn.

Take a bunch of pictures in the modes described above, making sure not to post them all on this site. Then, look at your pictures and see what needs to be improved on, once you have read up on some more information.

I don't think anyone has said it yet but take the time to read the manual. It's fairly light reading and will give you a nice introduction to your camera. I think it was the only manual I read this year. ha!

I would have said that. Manual is more important than you know. I tried to blow it off, not a good idea. Then prepare wallet for a shock because the heavy spending will really begin. Be sure this is what you want to do before you do that because I realize it takes some dedication & money. Lots of money.

I have to agree with the to people above my post! First thing to do when getting your camera is read your manual!! Know what all the features of your camera are and learn what it is capable of.

What I did (around this time last year)
Get the camera - open the manual - read!
sit and play with the camera having the manual there and just shoot off some shots and experiment (honestly I have loads of photos (mostly deleted now ;)) of my dull dorm room)