New Lense Suggestions for a beginner Canon rebel owner? :)

sakorarox07

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all!

Well my birthday is coming up...so I was thinking bout asking for a new lense from the family! :)

Im VERY MUCH a beginner, but Im learning slowly but surely :)

I currently have a Canon Rebel Xs ( I know..I suck :p but thats all I had in my budget as a poor university student :( )

and I have the 2 lenses that came with the camera:

IS lenses: EF-S 18-55IS (model #2042B002) and EF-S 55-250IS (model #2044B002)

I REALLY love the55-250 one, but it can get a little annoying sometimes cause you have to be a certain distance away to take the pic...but I dont really mind. I love the lense :)

Anywho.... I use my camera mostly for food photography, but I also use it (obviously) on trips and vacations and such. So ...any recomendations for lenses?

As this is a birthday present...it cant be overly expensive, and since Im fairly new to this and have an XS.... I really dont need anything too fancy...but I dont want something that is total crap either....

Thanks a lot for any help! :)

dxqcanada

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Photos OK to edit
Why do you want a third lens ?

You really have not described what you want the lens to do for you ... that your current lenses do not.

Tell us.

Montana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Photos NOT OK to edit
I agree, you need to define your needs before anyone can recommend something.

And by the way, you camera (nor you) suck because its a Rebel XT. That is still a very capable camera.

Derrick

frXnz kafka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
What exactly is it that you don't like about your 2 lenses? You say you have to be a certain distance away with the 55-200, but that it solved by having the 18-55. So there must be some other reason you're wanting to upgrade.

Overread

has a hat around here somewhere
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website