New Member Looking for Feedback

scorpion_tyr

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
lawrenceburnsphotography.yolasite.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been shooting just as a hobby mostly for a couple of years now. Never really had my work critiqued by other photographers. Here's some of my favorite shots, please let me know what you think. Hoping I can take my hobby to the next leve. Any and all C&C will be appreciated!

Thanks!

IMG_0061r.jpg

IMG_4306er.jpg

IMG_6552er.jpg

IMG_8788BlueFlagEr.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

I think the first one is a great idea. I think you captured everything just right. My only nit pick would be that you can't read the entire Crown Royal logo. Had you spun the glass just a tad it would have helped tremendously. Now my eye is just drawn to what is written and what it could possibly be.

A lot of members on here don't like selective color like in the second and fourth shot. I remember when I got PS it was the first thing I did though lol. When doing selective coloring you want to make sure you're not drawing the viewers eye away from the subject or emotion you are trying to convey. I'm still on the fence about SC so I won't comment on that. The second picture only pops because of the red dress. Had the dress not been colored I think it would have been boring in greyscale. I'm curious to see what that original image was.

The third one is kind of meh to me. I don't like the pose or the cluttered background. My eye is drawn to the blown highlight in the lower third of the image. After my eye goes there it just wanders around and looks at the trash and graffiti on the wall. Finally I look at your model but the pose throws me off so I look around some more.