New member/photographer questions

jinx703x

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, I'm a total beginner. I took photography 14 years ago in highschool but most of that knowledge is lost. Im looking for advise (that's probably been given before) on where to start. I don't want to purchase a camera and out grow it in a year and missing some features that might be nice to have or overspend on a camera that's more than I'll ever need.

Initially I'll be doing the traditional portrait's, city/architecture stuff but primarily I'll be photographing local musicians in bars.

So, where to start? I've used nikons years so I'm looking at their line up. I've got a budget of about $1,000 to get going. Where would you start? What things do I need to know/what do I need for low light bar photography?

Thanks in advance
jinx

I'd consider a used Nikon with a couple of good lenses, a good strobe light, tripod, spare batteries and memory cards. Also you need to process the pictures so consider the Photoshop/Lightroom $9.99/month deal as a start.
All of that says the camera and lenses will the biggest cost ($600-700??)with the body and the lenses each being half that cost.
I haven't researched current used prices and availability but perhaps the D3200, D5200 with appropriate lenses?

Photographing musicians in bars screams low light conditions, and in order to get good pictures, you'll need a very recent camera that performs well under low light conditions. I don't know how APS-C cameras can do under such conditions, but I do know that full frame cameras are far ahead of the game in this respect. Unfortunately, you won't find any FF cameras under 1000$, and this is without any lenses. Fast glass (f/1.8, f/2, f/2.8) would be nice for low light conditions too, but once again, those lenses ain't cheap, aside maybe the standard 50mm f/1.8.