New photographer, New to the forums

Michael Leal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Trying to keep this as brief as possible. I'm a new photographer (shooting 6 months) using a Nikon D40 (18-55 kit). Ive been hoping for new equipment but my funds are extremely limited here at college. Enough into.

Pictures!

comments and critiques are well appreciated, thanks

update: just tacked one pic at the bottom that I forgot to add at the beginning.

2684423542_9b7e52abda.jpg

2683544763_1b7f6d4f3e.jpg

2690678114_2cea933a02.jpg

2977030252_480b7d1d84.jpg

2878356980_d85a55e0e9.jpg

2689860749_d119dea49e.jpg

2744797893_23a88b0eb8.jpg

2744821355_d475461975.jpg

Last edited:
I like the first pic.... The rest, not so much.

The others are either snapshots and forced compositions to my eye. IE no Pop!

Thank You for the reply.

Last edited:
1st and 5th are nice shots. The others to me are just everyday shots. Not saying there is anything wrong with them technicaly, just nothing to say "Wow" about.
Try to be more creative with your content.

1st and 5th are nice shots. The others to me are just everyday shots. Not saying there is anything wrong with them technicaly, just nothing to say "Wow" about.
Try to be more creative with your content.

I really aprecciate your critique DRoberts. I totaly understand what your saying. Ill remember to ask myself if this photo has enough interest before I go about finialyzing it.

In a mild defence against myself I do always set my own Iso, Apeture, Shutter, and flash settings in full manual mode. There is a good ammount of thought that goes into making sure that the target is properly exposed and is as sharp as I can get it, but looks like I got to try harder on reworking my composition to get new angles with more "pop".

Thanks again.