New to HDR - EV setting question

kevbrisrq

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am very new to HDR - and I am very interested in this type of photography.

I have tried a few images and I am not sure if it providing me the POP - that I see in other images.

I have a canon 1D mark II - Here is how I capture my images - I think this maybe the problem?

I pick a subject - using the manual settings I find the correct Aperture and speed so the photo is properly exposed.

I then set my Bracketing to +/- 2ev - capture the images and bring them into photomatix.

Am I doing this correct? I am using a 50mm 1.4 lens.

When I brought the last batch in photomatix had a popup box saying the ev values were Wrong? Looked liked one was 0 one was -1 and the other 3 ( am I supposed to set the aperture and shutter speed to something specific?) Anything anyone can do to help is appreciated - I am learning allot about photography right now - so my expertise is still novice!

Thanks for your help!

Posting the images you're using to build the HDR, as well as the results you are getting, would help us tremendously.

Without that, it may be your subject may not work out best with a -2/0/+2 set. Some subjects only need -1/0/+1. Some need -4/-2/0/+2/+4. Some need -3/-2/-1/0/+1/+2/+3 and some even required 9 shots (-4/-3/-2/-1/0/+1/+2/+3/+4).

Try participating in some of our HDR shootouts. I think there's 23 posts so far.