New to photography and having mounting issues on 16X20 print please help!

cfiiman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new here and had a question about mounting photos. I took about 50 shots of automotive type pictures which is what I like to photograph and 2 came out to the point that I wanted to print and frame them. I got them printed easy enough and they looked amazing so I put them in a frame and noticed that they were "wavy" so to speak b/c they were not mounted to anything (I'm sure I sound like a total newb here which I am :) ) So I went to my local HL and picked up a 16X20 self adhesive mounting board, easy enough I thought, and had a go at it. First problem was I got air bubbles in it, so I peeled a third of it back and re-applied it and that was good to go. I used a rolling pin to push very hard and smooth it out. At first glance it looks fine but in certain lights you can now see a "texture" to the photo, that is the only way I can describe it. It is not necessarily a "bad" or "ruining" thing just I don't want it in there (which at this point I'm just stuck with it unless I re-print it). I searched and searched but couldn't find anything on what happened, or maybe this is just normal? Anyway I left the other print just by itself in the glass frame so it has no texture and looks much "slicker" but still has some "waves" to it. What do I do? I guess I should just go have it professionally done buy I'm a big DIY type and this seems like it should be fairly easy. Also it seems to me when photos are mounted (at least the one I did) that it lost some of its "vividness" so to speak, I don't know it just doesn't look quite as good as before it was mounted. Any help is much appreciated.

Anything 11x14 or larger I just have the lab mount it. They can do a far better job than I can at a much better price.