New to photography,

zeto88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
but defiantly not to art!
Hey, I'm new to the whole photography business, but I've been doing graphic art for a number of years now.
I mostly specialize in catering for bands, doing logos, layouts, artwork, etc, etc.
And I thought since I do everything else, I may aswell do promotional shots aswell right? Right.
Here's some of my layout/designing work for bands -
A Dead Silence (New Everything Up Now) on MySpace Music - Free Streaming MP3s, Pictures & Music Downloads
Hand Of Mercy on MySpace Music - Free Streaming MP3s, Pictures & Music Downloads
I've recently purchased a " BRAND NEW Nikon D90 VR Kit 18-55 70-300mm Nikkor lens " according to ebay.
After doing a bit of research, I realized that it was a GREAT deal ( $1,300 AUS ) for such a product.
Though myself having never done photography in my life, I was wondering if anybody knows if this was a good choice of camera for what I want it for.
Promotional portraits and what not. Also if there's anything else I should purchase for it!
I hope to become a regular member on this forum, it looks great!
Thanks heaps!

( I also posted this in the Welcome sub-forum, I wasn't to sure where was most appropriate. Thanks! )

Promotional portraits and what not.
good camera
Also if there's anything else I should purchase for it!

flash unit(s), second battery, memory card(s), books on photography (what it is and how you eat it), lenses, gray card...
There are probably hundreds of accessories out there you might want to purchase it just matter what you want, what you need, what you will need, and of course your budget on everything.
good luck

Wow, thanks for the quick response!
I'm looking into getting one of those 32gb Sandisk's, because of the HDR recording function. Is it worth getting a big memory card for? Or would I not use it.
Also, I've read about a battery grip 'stabilizing' the camera. Is this correct?