New to TPF / New to photography

crashcart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, all. I just got my first DSLR earlier this week and having no experience in photography (save for typical family/friends point and shoot stuff) I decided to just start snapping shots out of the box and see what I can come up with. Not knowing anything about composition, lighting, etc., I would love to get some feedback on these shots that I took while on business in NYC. Thanks in advance!

subwaygirl-07102008-side.jpg

subwaygirl-07102008-2-smaller.jpg

homelessgirl-07102008-smaller.jpg

hdrbuildingsnyc-07102008.jpg

Last edited:
I like the shots! I can't say what you might do to improve though as I'm a newbie too.

I like the shots! I can't say what you might do to improve though as I'm a newbie too.

Thanks for the comment. I really have non idea what I'm doing so I just want to get an idea of what works, what doesn't...
But hey, if you like them, then maybe I'm doing something right.

First one, seems like a little camera shake? Rest are good. :)

3rd one, im not sure... I dont think its great comp.. Needs a little tweaking

For first go, not to bad. I do think that on the first one, the focus was on the jacket, not the girl, she looks a little out of focus, but the jacket looks sharp. Keep practicing. :thumbup:

For first go, not to bad. I do think that on the first one, the focus was on the jacket, not the girl, she looks a little out of focus, but the jacket looks sharp. Keep practicing. :thumbup:

Your correct, I never noticed that as I was looking at the lovely girl. :oops:

im pretty new too, but as was said the first one was alittle out of focus. the second one i like and the third one i really like, kinda has some feeling about it. the fourth doesnt really have any focal point or main focus on subject. just my opinion:)