New Toy - Tokina 28-70 f/2.6-2.8 ATX PRO

rexbobcat

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is an interesting lens. I first heard about when I first began shooting and, seeing as how I was a cheap-as-hell high school student, I sought it out pretty heavily. I never managed to get my hands on one though, because they were rare online and the competition was pretty fierce to acquire one.

For anyone interested (if anyone is), this was a lens produced after Tokina purchased the design rights to the 28-70 f/2.6 design from cinema lens producer Angenieux. It's widely considered to be the best 28-70 lens that Tokina has produced. There were several medium zoom lenses produced by Tokina later on, but they tried to be economical with the designs, and we all know how that goes.

_DSF8917.jpg

_DSF8919-2.jpg

It's not a perfect lens. Not even close. Not. Even. Close.

But for $250, I didn't expect it to be.

1. There's a two step process for switching between manual focus and autofocus. First, you have to engage the focus mechanism by pushing the focus ring up toward the end of the barrel. Then you flip the conventional focus switch on the side to AF. One thing, though, and this is something that almost gave me a heart attack because I thought the lens was broken: if the focus clutch is pulled into manual focus mode, the lens will still autofocus. It'll just be really, really slow, inaccurate, and imprecise. Remember that if you get this lens and notice that the autofocus won't focus to infinity and is incredibly sluggish, the focus clutch is probably in the wrong position.