Newbie hoping for editing tips

hbernard011

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey All!!

I am a fairly new photographer with decent equipment, some knowledge, but little on the creativity side! My issue is with editing my pictures. I know what I want to achieve, but don't know exactly what components I need to adjust or if there is a simple action that does it all. Also, I don't know exactly what the name of the style is, as searching on the internet would be much easier if I did (if it has a specific name!). What I am going for is that bright, light and airy feel that contemporary wedding and baby pictures have that have become so popular in recent years. I am running PSE 7 and just downloaded Lightzone as a trial for 30 days.

I feel as though I must add that I am not interested in shooting professionally or for money. I just want to be able to make my investment in my camera worth it by taking pictures of my family and having them look the way that I want!

Thanks in advance,
Haley

I am attaching some links to some websites that have examples of the style that I am talking about. I would love to hear your thoughts!

Jessica Leigh Runyan Photography { premier Sevierville & Knoxville children's and high school senior photographer } (be careful with sound on this one as the player on the website seems to be very sick!)

Studio193 Photography, a Knoxville, Nashville and Atlanta childrens photographer, specializes in professional children, baby, newborn, child and family portrait photography

OK! We're talking child portraiture here, in broad terms.

You note that you have decent gear and you've provided a [very] good idea of what you wish to do with it.

I believe that the key to success will be your mastery over lighting rather than in photoshopping your way to your goal.