Ezylyf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Total Newbie Here
Hello everyone, totally new to this forum. Am an avid Kayak fisherman and belong to 3 fishing forums. That is why I joined this forum because I have experienced how fast you can learn from forums. The Kayak gives me many opportunities for outdoor photos and want to incorporate photography in with my fishing. Have been and still will use my Olympus Stylus waterproof camera, but want expand for some great shots.
So after extensive research I have purchased a Nikon D-90. I want to start out on the right foot so I know I will get the answers I need at this forum. Do not want to shoot professionally, just make a fun hobby out of it.

Questions....
Courses - Should I take courses at a junior college,etc.- Or take online courses.

Photo store where purchased from has a 3 hour intro course, this seems like a good place to start.

Camera came with a Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18 - 105mm lens - will this lens be all I need or should I invest in others.

Want to print nice pictures - what type of printer should I have and whats the best photo paper.

Should I have a different photo program other than the one I have now which is Windows...

Thanks and looking forward to feedback, I am sure I will have dozens of more questions.

Welcome to the forum.

I moved your post into the 'beginners' forum because it should get a lot more views here.

You may also want to make a post in the introduction section as well. (I would have moved this post there, but I think your questions will get more replies here).

Courses - Should I take courses at a junior college,etc.- Or take online courses.
Depends on how you like to learn. Some people need face to face interaction, some don't. I have taken several courses and I like them, not so much for the content (much of which I know already) but the interaction with the instructor and the other students is great.