Newborn Photography: Something Different

Farmclicker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am different; and with half her genetics sustained from me...well she will most likely be different as well, so we tried something a little different when it came to some newborn photos. I tried to get some inspiration by looking up some images on Flickr, Google, and Bing, but to me everything looked the same. You be the judge and let me know if it worked or not. (The last one seems radical, but I am a welder at a shipyard in my day job).

As for the model, she was the best I ever worked with. At 3-5 days old she holds her position quite well, but I admit I am adamantly biased! :)

8794950896_a54f08970f_z.jpg
[/URL] Baby Girl [/IMG]

8794941854_bfd441abca_z.jpg
[/URL] Tumble [/IMG]

8816014631_b55ba9efa8_z.jpg
[/URL] Dept 43 [/IMG]

I actually like the last one best. Lol

My advice... get something else set up for backdrops and blankets. Think solids. The floral prints compete with the baby for focus here and there are too many other props and elements to these that also take away focus from the baby. They seem a bit dark as well and your white balance I think is definitely struggling as well. She is a beautiful little girl, make her the focus of your images.

Im on shift today, so im stuck viewing them on my phone unless i get a break later and can look at them from my computer at the station... Which means i cant say much technical wise. Composition wise... I think these are great. Its nice to see something besides the same old baby poses over and over.

Congratulations, what a cutie! Agree with frommrstomommy about the patterns. I love the idea behind #1 and #3 but think they would be better with a neutral backdrop. #2 looks too much like the baby fell off the chair.

Congratulations on your brand new little one. :)