Newby in photography

immafreebeetch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi mates! I'm just new in photography i just recently bought a D3000 as my first Digital-SLR I've been taking lots of photos now and yet I haven't been satisfied with my shots - mainly the lightings. I know digital retouches like photoshop editing are also needed and I'm quite good in that but I'm trying to avoid that technique. Can some of you can help me or give me tips how to set up my camera especially in a low light surroundings? Or at least give me some basic tips and tricks to adjust in different light settings. Thanks in advance!

I'm by no means an expert (I'm a newbie as well), but here's what I know:

- Avoid using flash at all costs, even in low light surroundings... unless you need to freeze something in motion at night.
- Get a tripod. Or at least scope out some flat surfaces to put your camera on when shooting in low light, because you'll need shutter speeds as long as 1-30 seconds if it's dark out. Also either buy a shutter cable release or use the timer function on your camera so that the action of pressing the shutter button doesn't blur your photo.
- Try to keep your ISO in the 50-400 range if possible. The lower the better.
- Try to shoot during dawn, before the sky is pitch black--the sky will look a lot more interesting.

Hopefully that helps a little.

I'm by no means an expert (I'm a newbie as well), but here's what I know:

- Avoid using flash at all costs, even in low light surroundings... unless you need to freeze something in motion at night.
- Get a tripod. Or at least scope out some flat surfaces to put your camera on when shooting in low light, because you'll need shutter speeds as long as 1-30 seconds if it's dark out. Also either buy a shutter cable release or use the timer function on your camera so that the action of pressing the shutter button doesn't blur your photo.
- Try to keep your ISO in the 50-400 range if possible. The lower the better.