Newby to photography....

Study_Mummy28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone I just bought my first ever DSLR (canon 600d) yesterday, so I'm completely new to photography. I don't know anything about the advance settings of the camera and what's what but I'm wanting to learn. I have a 2yr old son who Ia everything to me and I love taking photos of him hence the reason I decided to get a good quality photo. I'm after any guidance/tips that anyone can give me to help increase my knowledge and if anyone knows any good websites/courses/books that they can refer me to it would be ever so helpful. Thanks heaps in advance it is greatly appreciated. Regards
Nikky

My advice to you is ready the manual and usually the 600d comes with some handy little books that explain some basic principles of how to use the camera and photography itself. After that you can look up anything you dont understand , there is so much information out there and here on the forums.

Yes, absolutely read the manual..that will show you where all the functions are and what they do. To learn the basics I've been watching videos on youtube (froknowsphoto, New To Photo, etc) and got some books. in particular "Complete Digital Photography" by Ben Long which provides a good and broad overview. There are other books that other people have found useful as well. Also, I'm considering getting the "Master and Learn" book/DVD set/CD collection that people have given good reviews on..it is essentially a photography class on DVD with supplemental material. Finally, you will need to understand post-processing...considering watching tutorials or getting a book on the program of your choice (ie. photoshop (or elements), Lightroom, etc.)
The tutorial videos made by New to Photo and froknowsphoto will explain the basics and I thing be a big help. Oh and of course practice, practice, practice!
Hope this helps!