Next logical upgrade?

aguerra.1993

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone, I am trying to decide on an upgrade to get. I've been shooting for about 3 years, mainly landscape photos, with a Canon t3i and kit 18-55. It's been getting the job done but I am looking to invest in a newer body and new lens. I am an outdoorsy person and love to hike, backpack, and travel so weight is of some concern, and so is the camera being tough. I've been thinking of getting either a Pentax k3/k3ii or if I should spend a little more and go with a 6d. I like that the Pentax cameras are very resistant to the elements but I am worried that the high ISO performance won't be so competent, as I've always wanted to get more into night photography and my T3i can be pretty noisy. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Are there any other cameras to take into consideration?

Last edited:
The Pentax K-3 is certainly more rugged than any Canon Rebel, but it isn't any lighter. B&H lists the weight of a usable K-3—with battery and memory card—but only the body's weight for the T3i so it isn't really a fair comparison, but it shows the K-3 should be at least 150–200 grams heavier. Mount a decent lens on it (the kit lenses are weather resistant, but probably not very tough), and that will add up.

Check out cameras such as the Fujifilm X-T10 and the Sony α6000. For night-sky shots, both systems have a 12mm f/2 lens made by Rokinon/Samyang/Bower.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Any latest cameras from Nikon or Canon good ISO performance.

Check out the Fuji XT-1 if you want the weather sealing...make sure you get appropriate sealed lenses as well. I think the kit 18-55 2.8-4 is weather sealed.

I usually don't respond to 'upgrade' threads simply because they're as many opinions on upgrades as there are people that post them.