Nikon 55-200VR lens question

Pilotkid424

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey,
Well, im new to photography and have a quick question about a lens. I recently purchased a Nikon D3000 which comes with a 18-55 VR lens. I am looking to purchase a 55-200VR lens and found one online at b&h photo for roughly $180 but it says it's "imported" and the more you read it says it's "grey market" and that it doesn't come with the Nikon warranty, but b&h will warranty it for 1 year. They also have the "real" one that comes with the NIkon warranty for roughly $230. What is your opinion on it? I would be saving $60 off of regular price compared to only $30 off for the lens that comes with the Nikon warranty?

Thanks, Austin

I posted the links for the 2 lenses below
Nikon | AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED | 2166

Nikon | AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED | 2166

if anything happens to the lens, Nikon WILL NOT touch grey market lenses. So, if you ever wanted to fix something on it, they won't. Thats why you are paying extra for the legit, five year, nikon warranty.

thanks for the response, yeah thats what i figured, if you don't mind, i am new to photography, how often do lenses break, i guess my question is how likely is it that i will need the warranty within 5 years?

if you treat ur equip right, they last a LONG time. My dad has a canon a1 setup with three lenses, and they still work well today (about 25 years old).

Just be careful with your stuff, and itll be fine

but then again, with todays technology, there is more things that can go wrong.

yeah, thats what i was wondering about, and plastic casings seem like an accident waiting to happen, thanks for the help, im thinkin i should probably go with the legit lens,

if anything happens to the lens, Nikon WILL NOT touch grey market lenses. So, if you ever wanted to fix something on it, they won't.