Nikon 70-300 f4.5 VR vs 80-200 f2.8D (two ring model)

Ub3rdoRK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.walesimaging.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everybody. Ive been torn between these two lenses. I currently have a Nikon D90 with a 18-105 kit lens, 35mm f1.8, 10.5mm fisheye. I pretty much shoot everything. I really am getting into wildlife, candid street shooting for the most part. Im not a professional...obviously. But Im trying to weigh the pro's and cons of each lens, and i know there is no "perfect for anything" lens. Im afraid to buy the 80-200 f2.8 D due to not having VR which the 70-300 has. I have the money for either one.
I feel i would benefit with VR but being able to shoot at 200mm at f2.8 to get the depth of field i want. I know theres other factors but im so full of information its coming out of my ears figuring which one i should get. any specs or recomendations would be HIGHLY appreciated.

Get the 80-200 f2.8!!!!!!!!!

It is a great lens that will out perform the 70-300 in every way

Most definitely the 80-200 f/2.8. I own one (the two-ring model) and it's excellent.

You know, the "new" 70-300 VR Nikkor is the lens Nikon expert Thom Hogan reccommends for use with the high-rez D3x, and the lens he actually SHOOTS when he needs a lightweight outdoor lens over 200mm, but not a 400mm lens...which is high praise for the new 70-300VR. It really is a cut above the cheap,low-performing $199 to $399 70-300 lenses most camera makers and 3rd party makers have been churning out.

I don't know how much of a tolerance you have for weight and bulk, and California has so,so much better weather than many parts of the USA and Canada that the slower f/stop of a 70-300 is often not that big a hindrance. And an 80-200 two-touch is a substantially larger lens than many people are willing to actually carry and use...