Nikon D3000 Astrophotography help needed

khanfear

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am completely new in the photography world and I am borrowing a Nikon D3000 that comes with a Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR and a Nikon
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G.

I wanted to try it for astrophotography and I was wondering exactly what settings I need to have in manual mode to take the pictures.

Thanks!!

Are you looking to capture deep sky or something like Milky Way?

Are you looking to capture deep sky or something like Milky Way?
They both sound good, I think I will start with general sky and move on to milky way when the conditions are perfect.

There is no one setting. There is a lot that goes into night photography. Time of day, dusk provides more ambient light than the middle of the night. Localized light pollution if a factor. The subject such as taking pictures of the sun or the moon give off more light than a moonless night taking pictures of just the stars.

A recent photo I took of a full moon from my back yard at dusk in a city neighborhood I used the following settings.
ISO: 200
f/2.8
1/60 second
GG7_0534.jpg

That produced reasonable results. I got a picture of the moon with a few wisps of clouds in front of it.

Back in 2012, I photographed the Venus Transit where we could see Venus moving across the surface of the sun. These images were taken before sunset, obviously, but I had to us a special filter for the purpose so I did not burn out my sensor or my eyes. The settings for that one were:
ISO: 200
f/5.6
1/5000 sec
GG7_8091.jpg

I could have used a smaller opening say f/16 ort f/32 and adjust the shutter speed but this was working for me and I did not see the need to change what was working during a photo shoot. Experimentation is key. If you are looking to do some astro photography, you might start by play with your camera settings in the evening hours and in the night time hours to get a feel for it.