Nikon D3100 OR Canon EOS 1100D

Abhi.Naik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I plan to buy an Entry-level DSLR. I don't have any experience when it comes to DSLRs, as I have just used Point and Shoot Cameras before. Considering my budget I have to choose between Nikon D3100 and Canon EOS 1100D.
Can you please tell me which one would be better?
I'm looking forward to using my camera for mostly Night-Photography, Portraits, Macro and Landscapes. I won't be using it much for video.

From what I've researched,

D3100 lacks Auto-Bracketing and Inbuilt Auto-Focus Motor. But it has Full-HD Recording. There are few more differences like, the 1100D has fewer focus points (9 v/s 11 in D3100), and has better Remote capabilities.

As I'm a beginner, I wouldn't know for sure, but I might be interested in HDR Photography later.

Considering all these factors, can you please advise me on what would be the best buy for me? Also, can you explain in simple terms how the presence or absence of Auto Bracketing will affect my HDR, if at all?

Thanks.

lack of autobracketing just means you have to be quick with your exposure compensation controls. But it's not hard. It literally involves pushing a button while turning a wheel. You can pretty easily fire off 5 shots at a range of exposure compensations within 7 seconds of one another, which is usually good enough for HDR. It's annoying that it's not on the D3100, because clearly the only reason it's not is to give people another reason to buy the D5100. But I really don't find it as a major drawback to the D3100.

I find the remote a bigger issue on the D3100, though it's mostly a convenience thing. It'd be nice to just pull a wireless trigger out of the bag and use it instead of hooking a wired trigger up, but really that's not a very big deal to me.