Nikon d3200 does not take pictures sometimes

Nikonuser82

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am a complete beginner with DSLR camera that I purchased about a month ago. The problem that I experience is that my Nikon d3200 does not take pictures sometimes. Just now I turned it on, put it in A mode and when I hit the button to take a picture nothing happens. The camera makes a quiet clicking noise and nothing. I tried portrait and auto modes - nothing. Then after turning it on and off a few times and trying different modes it finally started shooting.
This happened for the second time in a month and since I am a complete newbie I am not sure if it is the camera that is defective or maybe I am doing something wrong.
Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks!

It could be that it is not locking focus. Look through the viewfinder and make sure focus locks. This may not happen unless you point it at something with contrast. A white wall for example is not a good target

Exactly what I was thinking. If the camera is in AF and can't lock focus, it won't do ...anything except try to focus for a second, and then wait for you to point it at something with contrast.

It depends what AF mode is active.

AF-S (single focus), and AF-A are focus-priority AF modes. If focus has not been achieved, the shutter will not release.
AF-C (continuous focus) mode can be configured as a shutter-priority mode and will release the shutter regardless if focus has been achieved or not, and as a focus-priority mode.

See pages 35 - 43 of the D3200 Reference Manual. The complete D3200 Reference Manual is a PDF file on the software disc that was included with the camera.

Last edited:
I'm not sure about the 3200 but i have a 3100 and in the menu you can enable the focus beep. It will omit a beep sound when focus is achieved. If you hear the beep and press all the way down on the shutter release button and it still doesnt take a picture something else is going on