Nikon D40 or D60? Torn!

Flora

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First and foremost, I am a novice, so I do not know a whole lot about the DSLR cameras.

If one were to chose between these 2 models, which would be the best way to go. I read on a review that the D40 does not have an auto-focus driver in camera, so you have to buy more expensive lenses with the driver built in. My question is...is this reason enough to completely forego the D40 for the D60??....I am really stuck between these 2 models. Any input, pros/ cons would be greatly appreciate.

The D60 does NOT have a built-in AF motor either.

WOW, being the newest out, I just assumed that it did. Considering all other aspects of each, do you have an opinion on which way to go??

No need to worry about the drive motor issue. Both cameras have the same issue. And according to the D40 and D60 users. The lens issue is not really a problem unless you have some older lens you have to use, especially for beginners.

Now, question for you. Do you want to print your photos in Poster size all the time?

No need to worry about the drive motor issue. Both cameras have the same issue. And according to the D40 and D60 users. The lens issue is not really a problem unless you have some older lens you have to use, especially for beginners.

Now, question for you. Do you want to print your photos in Poster size all the time?

Good point! The higher pixels really doesn't matter to me, since like you suggested, I will not be printing out posters! Thanks for the input.

The major difference that I see is that the D60 has the Dust Reduction...how important is this?? Does anyone with the D40 have issues with this?

Good point! The higher pixels really doesn't matter to me, since like you suggested, I will not be printing out posters! Thanks for the input.