Nikon D60 vs. Canon Digital Rebel XTi

RyanGSams

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Which is better? I am new to photography and i am looking for a DSLR and just don't want to make the wrong choice. any help would be appreciated. thanks

Welcome to the forum.
Good question and one that has been debated many times on the forum. I did a quick search on the forum of D60 vs Rebel Xti and found 31 threads. So you might have a hard time getting this conversation started again.

Your best bet would be to go to a couple of those threads and see what you think. Here is the link to one of them.

I know you will love whichever one you decide to go with. They are both good cameras.

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/beyond-basics/130280-canon-rebel-xti-nikon-d60.html

Not to try to lead you in a new direction here is a review I did on my T1i (I know its not the XTi) and I would greatly recommend it. I've had great success with the 15 megapixels and speed of the processor (Digic IV).
Random Thoughts of a Photographer: Review of my new Canon T1i

I have found that the choice of Canon or Nikon is largely driven by whether you have compatible equipment or then your peer group preferences. If you hang around with a Nikon crowd you will lean toward Nikon and vice versa on Canon.
Hope this is slightly helpful.

I have a D60 and LOVE IT. and havent heard to much on the XTi but i will say Nikon is better with color but canon is more crisp, but thats just me.

Flip the coin. :D They are both good cameras.

I have a D60 and LOVE IT. and havent heard to much on the XTi but i will say Nikon is better with color but canon is more crisp, but thats just me.

Are you talking about JPGs? Because when you start shooting RAW that goes out the window.

The XTI has an advantage with a CMOS sensor vs. a CCD sensor that's in the D60. The XTI will have less noise at higher ISO settings which allows for you to get better shots in darker conditions.