Nikon D7100 or D610?

SteveKelly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been an amatuer photographer for years and I've decided to try to go professional. I have been shooting great pictures with my Nikon D7000 and have accumulated a huge collection of great DX lenses. I have the funds right now to upgrade my body. I can afford the D7100 and I really like it, however I am concerned I won't be taken seriously with a crop sensor camera. I could probably afford the full frame D610, but is it worth selling off all my DX gear to get the much more expensive FX lenses? Can a professional photographer be succesful and taken seriously with a crop sensor camera?

I have been an amatuer photographer for years and I've decided to try to go professional. I have been shooting great pictures with my Nikon D7000 and have accumulated a huge collection of great DX lenses. I have the funds right now to upgrade my body. I can afford the D7100 and I really like it, however I am concerned I won't be taken seriously with a crop sensor camera. I could probably afford the full frame D610, but is it worth selling off all my DX gear to get the much more expensive FX lenses? Can a professional photographer be succesful and taken seriously with a crop sensor camera?

Well I seriously doubt most non-photography buffs would be able to tell the difference between a D610 and a D7100 if their lives depended on it, so really I wouldn't even give that much consideration. As for being taken seriously, that's pretty much on your shoulders, not the camera's. As to FX vrs DX - a lot depends on what your shooting. The FX is going to give you better lowlight and of course without the crop factor better DOF in many cases for indoor/close/portrait work.