Nikon D7200 Landscape Shoot

morph1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.levelupdigital.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, this is my first post here and I have to admit I am not a pro or anything close to it and my understanding of the DSLR cameras is average, I recently upgraded from D5000 to this wonderful D7200 which I have been enjoying every since I opened the box lol.
I recently photographed some landscape in the mountains with overcast clouds ect,
the shots looked great however in close up they turned out a bit blurry.
I was shooting manually at F5 Shutter Speed 1/8000 sec with ISO of 500 I hand held the camera
and the images turned out ok but the sharpness was kind of disappointing...
I was wondering perhaps my metering is set wrong or something...
I have noticed on the left bottom side front there is a button and I can select AF AC and modify the
amount of sensors in the focus that take count , I also noticed the top right button for metering and I sort of understand how that works but is there a way I can improve or correct my setting to do something more to help in taking a sharp landscape images...
Inside the house the images look great, I am using the standard lens 18-140 Nikon lens...
Should I use a tripod in my landscape shoot ? how should I set up my autofocus solution I have noticed there is 9, 21, upto 70 + and 3D solution..

Any help would be appreciated.

thank you !

Dropbox - Edmonton.jpg

Last edited:
Hi,
sharpness has a lot to do with aperture. Usually a lens is sharpest at around f11. For a handheld landscape image with a wideangle setting, 1/100th should be sufficient, no tripod really needed for getting sharp images under these circumstances.
Plus: ISO 500 under these lighting conditions doesn't make a lot of sense. The lower the ISO, the better the image quality. So stick with 100 in bright daylight.