Nikon D90 or Canon Rebel T2i for a Rookie

little squirt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I really want to upgrade from my regular point and shoot cameras to a REAL camera.

Im very new to photography and have been searching around here for quite a while so I decided to open this thread becuase I still can't answer my own question.

What do you think of these choices for a rookie, newb person looking to expand their skills?

Are these cameras too much for entry level person gettin into DSLR? I will basically be using this for hobby & weekend photos, nothing professional, just want to learn and be able to get some shots that people stop and say, WOW thats a nice picture.

Thank you all for your time and any replys! Keep the awesome pictures coming, this is a great forum!

Charlie

Both are very good choices. :)

Personally I prefer Canon slightly... But Nikon makes great stuff as well. :)

Keep in mind that buying an SLR/dSLR is more of a system then just a camera. The lenses/accessories from one aren't made to work with the other without adapters and stuff...

I struggled with this very decision just a couple of months back. Finally ended up with a T2i. It's a bit lighter and I find it seems to "fit" in my hand better. It also seems to be about the same for low light image quality, which was important to me. One concern I had was ease of use, since I kept hearing that the Canon menu isn't as straightforward as the Nikon, but I can't imagine how the T2i could be easier to use. With all that said, though, I think both are great cameras for the money.

If I were planning to shoot mostly in auto and just looking for a camera to take great pics I would have seriously considered one of the micro 4/3rds system cameras from Panasonic or Olympus.

He must be talking about using Canon lens in Nikon's DSLR. Personally, I preferred the T2i and that is why I bought it instead of the D90. Been working well for me so far!