No flash in a the church? Tips?

natc143

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I'm shooting my first baptism in a low light/no flash church (little ambient light). I've never done this before and would love a few recommendations to ensure this is a successful shoot.

I have a canon 5d mii, 50d as backup, with a canon 24-70 and canon 70-200 f/2.4, a canon 50mm, a tripod. Should I invest in a monopod? I'd also like to upgrade my tripod with a ballhead (bogen/manfrotto?).

I would prefer not to raise my iso above 800/1600. What is your experience with ISO and managing low light situations?

Any tips and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. This shoot would be at 3pm on Sunday in New York.

what i would do i set your camera to about 800 on the iso open up your aperture as big as possible. on your 24-70 lens how fast is that?

What version of the 50mm do you have? You may want to stick with the prime for the large aperture if you can't get usable shutter speeds at F2.8.

A tripod/monopod might help, but since your subjects will be moving, you are still likely to end up with blur at slower shutter speeds.

You have the 5D mkII, don't be afraid to shoot at ISO 3200 or even 6400 if you have to. Noise is better than blur and this camera has some of the lowest noise levels available.

Remember that you can maximize the signal to noise ratio (less noise) by exposing to the right. Expose Right

I have the 50mm 1.4, should I get (buy or rent) 35 or 85mm 1.4/1.8? I may go up to 3200 as you suggest but w/o prior experience it of course makes me nervous. I will make adjustments throughout the baptism of course. My 24-70 is f/2.8. I'm going to check out exposing right as well - thanks!!!!!

Don't forget to shoot in RAW (always a good idea).