No "real" experience, camera died new baby coming need advice/help

FTLOSM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a camera novice, owned a nikon coolpix L11 till it finally stopped working recently, wife is having a baby soon, so want to replace the camera (below is some guideline info).

Compact is NOT important, more interested in the camera performing (yet not being too hard to operate for me).

Most pictures we would be taking would be indoor within 15 feet range, (baby, family gatherings etc) no need for something with amazing zoom or anything like that, just like our baby shots to turn out NICE (i think its a blessing maybe that the nikon died recently), no matter what I did to that simple, normal mode, tried to adjust things, the pics always looked blah at best.

Would like to stay under $500 if possible, i know I can get another point and shoot but the pics from that L11 never impressed me.

When our first daughter was born a friend had taken some shots of the baby with her bigger camera (i have no idea what it was) but the prints she gave us copies of were just awesome, i would love to find a camera that gives great shots (looked professional vs point and shoot picture wise), no big shadows, red eye etc. We have grown apart since then and can't find contact info (both of us have moved since then) or I would just ask her what her camera was.

If I walk into a local photo store at the mall I could easily be oversold and will admit most specs and info would go right over my head, so based on the basic info above has anyone got any good suggestions for me to read up on any certain models?

Bill

Last edited:
Never used a g9, but i did use my brothers s5 to take pics at his Daughters 1st bday. I did not like the s5 one bit, it just felt weird.