Noob here: Need help chosing between 2 cameras. Thanks.

jamigre

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
well being that im moving from my point and shoot camera to a SLR I was wondering if you guys could reccomed between these two cameras as they are the ones that I am predominantly looking at.

Canon EOS Elan 7N

and

Nikon N80

theyre both around 400 bux, even thought the cannon is a bit more expensive. Additionally, as I understand, once you get lenses from one company, they will not work with a camera from another company, say canon lens on a minolta body.... is this correct. Thanks.

Oh and please refrain from recomending cameras that brech the USD $500.oo price ceiling I have set for myself. Thanks.

-edit-
I should also stress that I have absolutely no desire to get a digital camera.

I'd recommend this.

It's about $100 more than the 7N and gives you eye control focus which IMO is the coolest, handiest feature yet. The one in the link comes with a 28-105mm lens. All for under $500.

Yeah I saw that, but what does eye control focus do exactrly? I was speaking with an amateur photographer who said that if you have either a +/- dioptic, you simply set the focus to your prescription and that it's predominantly for the purpose of not wearing glasses when using teh camera. I presume this was not a correct assessment.?

the diopic isnt the same as eye control.

eye control is the camera sensing where your looking at thru the lens and it actually focuses on that area for you.

thats a badass camera, and my choice too.

md

I had an Elan 7e with the eye control. It is a cool feature, but almost totally useless unless maybe you are into sports photography and other high speed stuff. Even then its usefulness is debatable. The cam itself is a very nice cam, so if u get it you won't be disappointed, but that feature according to most is useless.