Noob: My dogs. (Advices needed about PP!)

Silchuki14

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I am testing out my new old Minolta 70-210mm F4 lens and so far I like what I can do with it. Here two shots that I took today that I think are better than what I usually produce. Keep in mind that I am still a beginner. Thanks! Here's some question I would need advice on:

1- Can a background be too "blown-out"? I find the background of the second picture really blown-out but don't know if it's a good or bad thing, your thoughts?

2- How would you edit those pictures? I would only raise the exposition and contrast on the second one. The first one would see a raise in exposition also. But what else? (Those are not edited, out of the camera)

3- General C & C are welcomed!

#1 (ISO 800 - 105mm - f/ 4.0 - 1/2500s)
31072013-DSC00627.jpg

#2 (ISO 800 - 180mm - f/ 4.0 - 1/2000s)
31072013-DSC00620.jpg

Thank you!

The_Traveler

Completely Counter-dependent
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.lewlortonphoto.com
Photos NOT OK to edit
Nicely sharp but the eyes a bit dark in both
you may not mean blown out as much as blurred. (search bokeh )
I find both of these pictures a bit dull and dark and the subject oddly framed.

$31072013-DSC00620lll.jpg$31072013-DSC00627lll.jpg

DarkShadow

Birdographer
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Photos NOT OK to edit
Other then what traveler said already, I am not sure why you used shutter speeds of 1/2000 and 1/2500 shutter speeds,. it is totally unnecessary for that speed for dog portraits.

DarkShadow

Birdographer
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Photos NOT OK to edit