tdiprincess

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
mikeandbrittsadventures.shutterfly.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey there all! I'm new here....
I'm an amateur photographer. Right now it's a hobby that I enjoy. I'm slowly building up my skill and trying new things.
I currently own a Kodak Z812 IS, 12X optical zoom, 8.1 mega pixels. It's pretty much a point and shoot. I'm starting to play around with more of the settings.

I'm looking at investing in a DSLR. I'm not quite sure what to get. I'm not looking to spend much money and I'm a beginner. Any ideas?

Also, I'm going to be shooting for a party in May. I may have the chance to get my DSLR by that time. Any hints on taking photos inside? What's a good ISO? My current camera doesn't really let you choose how much..

But, I will start posting some of my pictures as I go a long. I just took a trip with my husband to New York City, I think I may post a couple shots to get some pointers...

Thank you!

I just bought a Nikon D3000. I really like it so far. It wasn't a bad price either for my first DSLR. Best Buy has a special on it right now.

a good iso to shoot at indoors is the one that provides the desired shutter speed. its impossible to be specific as each location is different. a very well lit indoor area you could shoot at 100, and a poorly lit one you can be shooting upwards of 1600-3200 or more.

the general rule of thumb that i go by for shutter speed is 1/focal length. for example, with a 50mm lens you'll want around a 1/50th or faster. a 200mm lens you'll want at least 1/200th. there's some debate for crop sensor cameras about whether it should be 1/focal length or 1/focal length * crop factor. so in my case on the 50D shooting a 50mm i'd want 1/80th (50*1.6).

to be honest though you can shoot slower depending on what your shooting, and how steady your hands are. there's no hard set rule. experiment, have fun, and if it doesnt work try again. :)