Not sure what's wrong..

MVPernula

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Heya!

Just got my sweet D7100 picked up and I love it already. I studied media 3 years ago, photography was one of those three, there I learned a bit about using manual among other things but generally the basics outside 'auto'.

I know ISO, shutter time, WB and the thing I've never said in english.. The thing that decides how much light gets into your camera.. The F thing. You know what I'm talking about. (classic "sorry english isnt my native language" :p)

And to me that's basically all I should have to know if I want to take a properly exposed picture of, well, anything right?

When taking a picture I'm at the middle of the slider. You know this thing:
- <----0----> +
And I know having it on + makes it brighter and - makes it darker.

But the fuzz is that even though I'm at the middle/0 it still gets VERY overexposed, and I cant really figure out why.

What am I missing guys? Have I gotten something backwards? Havent really been too much into photography lately, so I'm a bit rusty.

Thanks! :)

The "f-stop" is a ratio of the focal length divided by the aperture opening.

Written thus: f/1.8 for example.

The f stop changes as the aperture is changed.

f-number - Wikipedia

Check the "Exposure Compensation" and see if it is set to 0 - ZERO
or if it's +1.0 or something

I'll take a picture of the manual on this ...

..even though I'm at the middle/0 it still gets VERY overexposed, and I cant really figure out why.
I can't explain why. Your light meter may be wonky.

Make sure the exposure comp is set to zero.

Honestly, I'd suggest shooting with auto mode and study the f-stop, iso and shutter speed and try to recreate that in manual mode.

#10 to the right of the main release button
ExpCompensation1.jpg
ExpCompensation2.jpg