off camera flash options

anything you synth

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been really interested in purchasing an off-camera flash, as the on camera flash is becoming increasingly irritating. I have a Canon Xsi, and all i've really seen from canon is their speedlite series, which is very pricey imo. Are there other options, other than the canon speedlites? I dont need a high-end flash, because im just a beginner, but i would like something that would give me better results.
thanks!

I've been thinking the same thing, so I'll just wait arround for the suggestions... :)

The advantage of the Canon flashes is that you can use their ETTL metering system which automatically sets the power output of the flash to get the proper exposure. With other brand flashes you will probably have to use the flash in manual mode.

oh, i see what you're saying. i'll probably end up buying a speedlite then, because it will probably prove more useful in the long run. also, what do you think about the Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 ? im debating between that and a 50mm f/1.8

or is there another lens i should be considering? i dont have THAT much to spend, but i'd like to upgrade from my kit lens

To be honest, I don't think the speedlights are that pricey. Once you spend a significant amount of time shooting with a full manual flash (still do and they produce wonderful results), you will realize just how much "intelligence" is built into the E-TTL metering system (or iTTL for nikonians).

You do have other options...

* Any xsync hotshoe flash should work given the flash doesn't exceed the XSI's trigger voltage (has Canon addressed that yet?). You'll be operating in full manual and have to stay below the max sync shutter speed of the camera. People who go this route generally will either enjoy the full control and manual aspect or end up missing all the auto-features in the ETTL flashes (end up purchasing one anyways).