Oh geez..I think I just messed up Big time! HELP!

bbaker35

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Wow..I'm real scared right now. I am new to photography and I'm almost certain that the level of equipment is far better than my level of knowledge. Canon Digital Rebel XT shooting with a Canon 75-300mm 4.0-5.6f lens.

So I offered to take some pictures of my friend's daughter (homecoming) from the sidelines of the football field tonight...not a good idea. I tried about 5 or 6 different settings and only got a couple acceptable shots... I think I would have many more but I did something wrong. I thought since the light wouldn't be great on the field I should set the iso very high (I choose 1600) obviously wwaayy to high!! Now all the pictures are really dark..

I am new to editing, but use Photoshop CS. Is there any way I can switch or edit the picture to compensate for the extra high iso setting I shouldn't have used?

Any advice would be helpful...

Also..I shot some pictures in RAW format because I thought that might be easier for me to try to correct any mistakes I was making. Now the extension of a few of my pictures is .CS2 Now Photoshop won't open those files. Is there anything I can do to make photoshop open these files?

No worries. I have a Rebel XT as well and had the same problem. You just need to download a plug-in from the photoshop site.. I will see if I can find the link, but you have to follow the instructions (whoops.. speaking from experience here)

http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/cameraraw.html

I believe that is the correct link. Good luck :D

I used CS in my school's photo lab briefly, but I think it's very similar to 5.5-8.1 that I normally use. You want to use curves or levels, but that might or might not work. 3d lighting might not be available in CS- I don't remember, but sometimes the 3D lighting filter can help compensate for dark shots...