OK folks, am I ready?

philaphotog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all -

I've been doing newborn & baby photography for my friends for a couple of years now, for free. Many have suggested I should start up a business. Can you give me your honest input on the photos I have posted at:

http://www.shutterfly.com/pro/1215042339383/AmandaHallPhotography

The password is "Amanda" with a capitalized "A."

Would you pay for these? Please give me your honest criticisms. I've heard nothing but good stuff from friends and family - but what else would they say?!

Thanks -

Last edited:
hi,

the password isnt working

That's why I made sure I have at least some friends who tell me the truth.
It makes me wonder about those people that try out for American Idol but can't carry a tune in a bucket. (Didn't their family and friends warn them?)

I dunno about starting a business, they seem to be decent pictures but nothing amazing. Mebbe some more lighting practice?

Yes, I think you are ready, but here are some things to consider.
You are offering too many images, when I look at the galleries, there are many that are duplicates or the changes are so small it does not make sense to post that many. People have a hard enough time making up their minds when there are 50 photos, let alone 130.

Your Prices are too low. You need to consider a few things in your pricing.
1) How much time did you spend taking the photo,
2) How long did I drive to get to the location and back
3) How much did the gas cost
4) How much is the wear and tear on your car.
5) How much will it cost to replace my camera in time
6) How will you make enough to add to your equipment and expand
7) How much time was spent downloading from camera, processing, editing and uploading images.
8) How much was the power and heat in your house while you were doing this.
9) How much is your photo service taking as a commission