Old Film

stingray

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I assume this is the right forum to post in... so here goes...
I have juust been given some fairly old Ilford FP4 plus 125 ISO film.
The date printed on it, which I assume is the expiry, is OCT 2001.
My question is, is this film useable? I'm a student and don't even have an income at the moment so it would be nice to able to use this...

Let me put it this way:

There a guy who buys 50 year old cameras with film in them, then develops the film and displays the pictures on his site. The pictures are GOOD

Useable? I'd say yes, unless you're heavy into the zone system and need a really precise response curve from the film.

Does this help?

thanks a lot doc. i'm pretty easy with my "response curves"... we're only human and there's only so much we can actually see...
Films only off by a couple of years, should be right then! No need for change of developing time or technique?
Thanks again,
W

A lot depends upon how it's been kept.
Cool and dry it will be OK - not brilliant but useable.
Under adverse conditions the film can even grow mold.
The main changes that occur to unexposed film over time are a loss of film speed and a build up of base level fog.
The silver crystals spontaineously 'expose' themselves over time (there is an explanation for this but it's at the atomic theory level and it's too early for me).
Keeping film cold or frozen reduces this effect considerably. Getting it warm accelerates it.
The only real way to find out if it's useable is to use it. Just don't use it for anything critical.

once again hertz comes to the rescue. no trouble with dryness it was in the cupboard in a darkroom that is seldom used... heat shouldn't be a problem either as it IS a dark room and it's only Australia... nothing too extreme anyway.
As for developing... I only have access to T-mAx dev. Is that ok? and do i just follow time on the film's box?