olympus question

poorbucks

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello all, first timer here. Since I am extremely new at this I don't know who to ask.so here goes: I have an Olympus e420 with a few different lenses, I really like the camera, takes better pictures than I can. I was curious to know does Olympus have a current E-series camera to upgrade to? I have searched everywhere and all I come up with is E600, E-5?? can't remember if that's them though...........they seem to be a few years old at this point? I figured since I have a few lenses for the system, that I could eventually upgrade.....I guess what I'm asking is, should I hold onto this assuming they will be coming out with something new, or should I dump it all and go with something newer/ different when the time comes?? Thanks in advance

Hi poorbucks and welcome to the forum!

I own a couple of Olympus E-series lenses (Four Thirds) and adapt them to my micro four thirds cameras. These lenses are fabulous and I would not want to sell them. As I see it, you have four choices:

Option 1: Stick with your E420 - if you're still enjoying the camera and improving your skills, why "upgrade"? But, if you want or need some of the features of the latest cameras (e.g., wi-fi connectivity, video, 5 axis in-camera stabilization, etc.), then you might want to select one of the options below.

Option 2: Buy a mirrorless micro 4/3 camera such as the $1000 Olympus OM-D E-M5 (video, 5 axis stabilization) or $750 Panasonic G6 (wi-fi, video) plus either an Olympus MMF-3 or Panasonic MA1 adapter (I use the Panasonic).

Micro 4/3 is Olympus' successor to the E-series 4/3 format. Your lenses will still autofocus with these adapters, but AF will be a little slow with classic 4/3 lenses.